1 of 3
Say Hi! You’ll get emailed when new members sign up…
Posted: 18 July 2009 08:11 PM   [ Ignore ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  639
Joined  2005-08-30

Hi, I’m Dave, and I’ve been writing for about 25 years.  RiotRealty, AKA Tess thought there should be one thread where EVERYONE could introduce themselves.  So this is it!  As long as you’ve left the default settings in place, the site will email you when others reply to this thread so you can meet members newer than you.

Thanks Tess for the idea to start this thread.

If we accept something you submitted, we’ll look for a new topic that you started and use that as your bio.

In fact, this is the post for my own bio, so here it is:

In college, I read Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand. After graduation from Revelle College, UCSD with a BS in Cognitive Science, I met Alex Boese, the curator of the Museum of Hoaxes in a creative writing course. I tutored people in math and science and writing and then landed a computer job. Like so many software engineers, I worked for several businesses that eventually ceased to exist. I co-founded StoragePoint.com, which crashed and burned like any good little dot-com company. While I continued finding work with software companies, I got involved with Slashdot and a few other sites where an open membership was allowed to register individuals’ judgments of quality. I studied a rarely used but highly efficient method of finding consensus that has been named after the French philosopher the Marquis de Condorcet.