About Sounds and Words
Posted: 20 November 2006 07:29 AM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  30
Joined  2006-11-20

Hello,

This seems to be the place where writers write about themselves and say hello to each other.
I was contacted out of the blue on my MySpace page by one of your members (Stokey), who asked me, if I would not consider putting my poetry online here. Well, here I am… wink
About me, I am first a musician (1st flute in symphonic orchestra in Paris, France) and then a writer. Music and words are like a Janus face, even if you only pay attention to one of them, they really belong to the same head…what one of them can’t express, the other will.
As a musician, I am very attracted not only by the meaning of things, but by their sound as well; each language, each culture has their own music and there is music to found in each language. This is usually very visible in the poetry. I only speak three languages, but have found specific beauty in poetry in each of them, that can’t be translated without loosing something and gains in expression and depth when read aloud. This said, I very much separate song lyrics from poetry, lyrics may have as much beauty as a poem, but they usually have to adapt and conform to the requirements in stanza and rhythm of the music they accompany, they are symbiotic and one can’t go without the other. It is different with other, non verbal music, just as poetry can stand alone. One could think that these are three families, who draw their inspiration from the same source…
Of realise that as a way of introduction this is rather weird. But hey, I’m a flutist. We are always weird. Anyway, glad to be here and looking forward to get to know you all and your work…

Signature 

“Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent.”
- Victor Hugo

Posted: 21 November 2006 12:09 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  286
Joined  2006-07-29

Welcome Flute!