Hello…
Posted: 06 April 2010 03:05 PM   [ Ignore ]
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2010-04-06

My name is Coleman Thomas Lamb, and I am a 21-year-old native of Pittsburgh Pennsylvania.  I graduated from Pittsburgh Central Catholic High School in 2007 and left to study English and History at Georgetown University.  In January, I left Georgetown and returned home to intern with a local non-profit committed to peace, unity, and economic prosperity in the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland.  Beginning inn August, I will pursue an undergraduate degree in Creative Writing at Carnegie Mellon University. 

My literary influences include a number of different writers and traditions, many of whom/which I’m sure I have yet to discover.  However, six specific works that had a notable impact on my life are: Dubliners/A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man by James Joyce, The Doors of Perception by Aldous Huxley, The Autobiography of Malcolm X by Malcolm X and Alex Haley, A Season on the Brink by John Feinstein, and The Corner by David Simon and Ed Burns.

Posted: 13 April 2010 02:36 AM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 1 ]
Administrator
RankRankRankRank
Total Posts:  635
Joined  2005-08-30

Hi Coleman,

Thanks for joining.  Each submission automatically gets a “Discuss” link to a new forum topic specifically for that submission.  My original idea with that was to give short story writers a way to introduce the motivation and goals they had in writing the story.  There aren’t a lot of people who use it that way, but it’s a handy way to discuss a piece with its author.  I think those links might be a good way for you to connect with the other writers here.

Let me know if you have any questions or suggestions.  New writers generally help keep things going around here.

Posted: 13 April 2010 12:01 PM   [ Ignore ]   [ # 2 ]
Rank
Total Posts:  5
Joined  2010-04-06

Hey Dave,